Skip to main content Skip to footer
Johns Hopkins Announces Hall of Fame Inductees

BALTIMORE, Md. -- Johns Hopkins University will add six individuals to its Athletic Hall of Fame in ceremonies scheduled for Saturday, September 26. The six-member class will be honored at halftime of the Johns Hopkins football game against USMMA-Kings Point with the Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremony scheduled for later that evening. Members of the Class of '98 include:

Tim Collins (Class of '80) -- Men's Swimming
Four-year standout on the men's swimming team, helping the Blue Jays to the NCAA III Championship in 1977, 1978, and 1979 and a runner-up finish in 1980. Hopkins also won four straight Middle Atlantic Conference Championships during Collins' career. In addition to the conference and national championships Collins helped Hopkins win, he also won three straight NCAA individual titles in the 1,650 free and stills holds the school record in the event with a time of 15:49.11 (set in 1979). This is the oldest standing individual record in Johns Hopkins men's swimming. At the time of this third title, Collins was just the third person in NCAA III history to win an event three times at the national championships.

Del Dressel (Class of '86) -- Men's Lacrosse
Perhaps the most decorated player in the storied history of the Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse program. Dressel is one of just four players to earn First Team All-America honors four times and was the 1984 and 1985 recipient of the McLaughlin Award as the nation's top midfielder. Ranks as the highest scoring midfielder in school history with 99 goals and 75 assists for 174 points. Helped lead the Blue Jays to the 1984 and 1985 NCAA Championships with a title-game appearance in 1983 and a trip to the semifinals in 1986. In addition to the honors received during his career, Dressel is a member of the Johns Hopkins all-time team and was selected to the NCAA Silver Anniversary Team in 1995.

Mike Federico (Class of '80) -- Men's Lacrosse
One of the top goalies in college lacrosse in the last 25 years, Federico led Johns Hopkins to three straight NCAA Championships in 1978, 1979, and 1980. A member of the All-Time Johns Hopkins Team and the NCAA Silver Anniversary Team, Federico was a three-time First Team All-American and a three-time recipient of the Ensign C. Markland Kelly Award as the nation's top goalie. At the time, he was just the second goalie in history to win the Kelly Award three times. Enjoyed some of his finest game in the NCAA Tournament as he held six of nine opponents to less than 10 goals and gave up just 22 goals in three games during the 1979 tournament.

Wilson Fewster (Class of '50) -- Coach, Men's Lacrosse and Football
Standout lacrosse player and head coach of the football, men's lacrosse, soccer, and wrestling teams at Hopkins. Fewster earned First Team All-America honors in 1947 and Third Team status in 1948 as a midfielder, and Honorable Mention status in 1950 as an attackman. A member of the Johns Hopkins All-Time Team, Fewster was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1980. He coached the football team from 1959-65, guiding Hopkins to conference championships in 1959 (7-1) and 1960 (5-2-1). He also served as the head coach of the wrestling team and soccer teams for one year.

Dawn Richards Tolbert (Class of '85) -- Women's Basketball
Four-year standout for the women's basketball team. Led the team in scoring in each of her final three seasons, averaging over 20 points per game as a sophomore and a junior. Only player in school history to average over 20 points per game in a season and the first player in school history to score over 300 points in three straight seasons. Still ranked among the all-time leaders in numerous statistical categories, Richards finished her career as the all-time leader in scoring (1,388), field goals (589), free throws made (210) and rebounds (587) and remains one of just four players in school history to score over 1,000 points and grab over 500 rebounds.

Jerry Schnydman (Class of '67) -- Men's Lacrosse
Three-time All-American midfielder, garnering second team honors in 1965 and first team honors in 1966 and 1967. Helped Hopkins to a 25-9 record during his career, including an 11-1 mark in 1967, when Hopkins won the USILA National Championship. Generally regarded as one of the top faceoff specialists in history, Schnydman was a long-time assistant coach at JHU, working primarily with the faceoff men. Schnydman was named to the All-Time Johns Hopkins Team and has continued to serve the University in admissions, alumni relations, and the President's Office.

The Johns Hopkins Hall of Fame was established to give the University an opportunity to honor the many outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to Hopkins athletics over the years. Those enshrined in the Hall of Fame represent many of the legendary names in the history of Hopkins athletics, including accomplished athletes, coaches, and administrators. The Hall of Fame is located in the Newton H. White Jr. Athletic Center, in the room adjacent to the main lobby. The room has been dedicated to the memories of Fred Smith and Henry Ciccarone, two members of the Hall of Fame's charter class.

Eligibility for selection to the Hall of Fame requires that candidates have participated in at least two full seasons of varsity competition at Johns Hopkins. A candidate may be inducted at any time beginning 10 years after receiving a bachelor's degree from Johns Hopkins or another accredited institution. Consideration is also given to individuals who distinguished themselves through outstanding service to athletics at Johns Hopkins.