Skip to main content Skip to footer

Johns Hopkins, Sophia Meehan Win NCAA Mideast Regional Titles

Junior Sophia Meehan won the NCAA Mideast title in a course-record 21:18.0.
Nov. 15, 2014

Mideast Regional Results

NEWVILLE, PA - The top-ranked Johns Hopkins women's cross country had four runners finish in the top 10 and five in the 13 as the Blue Jays won their seventh straight NCAA Mideast Regional title on Saturday. Junior Sophia Meehan broke the course record en route to claiming the individual crown. Hopkins finished with a total of 28 points, beating second-place Dickinson by 71 points.

Rounding out the top five in the final standings were Elizabethtown (131 points), Allegheny (170) and Swarthmore (190).

Meehan, who is the third Johns Hopkins runner to win the regional title in school history (all three have come since 2010), continued her dominant season with her first-place finish in a time 21:18.  She finished 36 seconds ahead of freshman teammate Bridget Gottlieb, who crossed in 21:54 to place second.  Gottlieb was the only freshman in the meet to finish in the top 23.

Hopkins secured its team title with three more finishers in the top 13 as Frances Loeb (5th / 22:06.6), Tess Meehan (7th / 22:13.2) and Caroline Powers (13th /22:26.3) all finished before any other team had its second run across the line.

While non-scoring in the team standings, Hopkins' Abby Flock (18th / 22:32.3) and Hannah Oneda (19th / 22:36.5) also placed in the top 20.  With their finishes, all seven Johns Hopkins runners earn All-Region honors.  This the second consecutive year that all seven Johns Hopkins runners at the regional championships have earned All-Region honors. 

Johns Hopkins earns an automatic bid to next week's NCAA Division III Women's Cross Country Championships with tolday's first-place finish.  Dickinson, with its runner-up finish, also earns an automatic bid.  The top two teams in each region earn automatic bids to account for 16 of the 32 teams that participate.  The other 16 teams comprising the field are selected as at-large participants.