Skip to main content Skip to footer

Nine Blue Jays Named to CSCAA Scholar All-America Team

June 22, 2017

NORFOLK, VA – Nine members of the Johns Hopkins women’s swim team have been named to the 2017 College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America Team it was announced recently. In addition, the women’s program was named a CSCAA Scholar All-America Team after posting a grade point average of 3.56 for the spring semester.

Six individuals received First Team Scholar All-America honors in senior Abby Brown, juniors Lena Bless, Kaitlin Jones and Anna Wisniewski, sophomore Sami Kegel and freshman Sonia Lin. Earning honorable mention accolades are senior Shirley Chan, junior Sara Wujciak and sophomore Sami Kegel. Bless, Brown and Wisniewski earn the honor for the third time while Chan and Wujciak are each two-time honorees.

The Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved both academic and athletic excellence over the semester coinciding with their respective national championship. In order to be selected athletes must have achieved a minimum GPA of 3.50 or higher, be in good standing with their team and institution and be nominated by a CSCAA member. For the first-team status, individuals must have qualified for and competed at their respective national championship either as an individual or as part of a relay. For honorable mention, individuals must have achieved an individual "B" time standard or completed in their respective NCAA diving regional.