Skip to main content Skip to footer

Nine Blue Jays Selected to NCAA Swimming Championships

March 11, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- Nine members of the Johns Hopkins women's swim team have been selected to the 2017 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships. In addition, a 10th Blue Jay will be making the trip as relay support. The championships will be held March 15-18 at the Conroe ISD Natatorium in Shenandoah, Texas. The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference and the City of Shenandoah will serve as hosts.

Hopkins has made every NCAA Division III championship since its inception in 1982. The Blue Jays have placed in the top 15, 25 times and the top five, five times. Hopkins earned a program-best third-place finish at the 2014 championship.

Senior Abby Brown leads the way for the Blue Jays as the five-time All-American is making her fourth appearance at the NCAA Championships. Juniors Lena Bless, Courtney Cowan, Kaitlin Jones, Gwynnie LaMastra and Anna Wisniewski are all making their third appearances. Sophomore Natalia Rincon is going to the NCAAs for the second time while freshmen Kristen Petersen, Alison Shapiro and Sonia Lin are making their first appearance.

Wisniewski, who took second in the 100 Fly last season, has earned All-America honors 13 times in her career. Jones (11) and LaMastra (10) also have double digits in All-America accolades for their careers. Jones and LaMastra each earned the maximum seven All-America honors in 2016. Cowan is an eight-time All-American while Bless earned her first accolade in the 400 Medley Relay at the 2016 championship.



As a team, Hopkins enters the NCAAs with the fourth fastest time in the nation in the 800 Free Relay (7:30.63) and the fifth fastest in the 400 Medley Relay (3:46.52).

Fans who aren't making the trip to Shenandoah, can watch the action on Live results will be available as well, with the link yet to be announced.