HopkinsSports Instagram


Hopkins Slips Past McDaniel, 20-17, in Centennial Wrestling Action

Freshman Evan Johnson's 5-1 win at 197 secured JHU's 20-17 win over McDaniel.

Jan. 17, 2012

BALTIMORE, MD – Freshman Evan Johnson’s 5-1 win over Sule Marquez-Monsanto at 197 pounds provided the winning margin as Johns Hopkins knocked off visiting McDaniel, 20-17, in Centennial Conference wrestling action at Goldfarb Gymnasium Tuesday night. The win is the Blue Jays’ fifth in the last seven meetings with the Green Terror and improves JHU’s record to 2-10 overall and 1-0 in the Centennial. McDaniel falls to 1-5 overall and 0-1 in the Centennial.

Johnson, who won his fourth straight match and for the ninth time in his last 12, hadn’t wrestled at 197 all season, but the Blue Jays were forced to juggle the lineup in the heavier weights. He used a takedown and near fall to jump out to an early 4-1 lead and amassed more than three minutes of riding time against Marquez-Monsanto to even his record at 11-11 on the year and secure the win for JHU.

Early on it didn’t look like a match-clinching win that late would be necessary as JHU jumped out to a 14-0 lead after four matches. Major decisions by sophomore Ray Yagloski (133) and junior Paul Marcello (141) were bookended by a match-opening win by freshman Paul Bewak at 125 and Henry Stauber at 149 to give the Blue Jays the early advantage. Yagloski’s major decision was his team-leading fifth of the season, while Marcello’s was his fourth.

McDaniel took three of the next four bouts, including an 18-1 technical fall victory by Brent Lowe at 157, to trim the deficit to 17-11 entering Johnson’s match. Knowing they would be forfeiting the match at 285, the Blue Jays needed Johnson’s win to secure the team victory and he allowed just one escape in the victory.

Johns Hopkins will return to action on Saturday, January 21 when the Blue Jays take on Muhlenberg and Ursinus. Those matches will take place at Gettysburg at noon.



Johns Hopkins-20, McDaniel-17
125Paul Bewak (J) dec. Mike O’Boyle (M), 7-4
133Ray Yagloski (J) maj. dec. Sean Ensign (M), 16-4
141Paul Marcello (J) maj. dec. James Young (M), 17-6
149Henry Stauber (J) dec. Logan Yox (M), 8-3
157 – Brent Lowe (M) tech. fall Mike Rizzo (J), 18-1 (3:52)
165 – Sean McGarry (M) dec. Jody Gowen, 5-0
174Travis Laska (J) dec. Jacob Reik (M), 8-3
184 – Scott Forrester (M) dec. Ben Finelli (J), 3-2
197Evan Johnson (J) dec. Sule Marquez-Monsanto (M), 5-1
285 – Joe Camlin (M) win by forfeit

- 30 -

Online Store