Skip to main content Skip to footer

Ten Blue Jays Named to ACWPC All-Academic Team

Feb. 20, 2018

Jill Guise
By Jill Guise
Assistant Director of Athletic Communications

BRIDGEPORT, PA – The Johns Hopkins water polo team placed 10 student-athletes on the 2017 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) All-Academic Team it was announced recently. Hopkins has now produced 131 ACWPC All-Academic honorees since 1997. The 10 selections this season are the third most in program history and are the most since 2015.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete’s head coach must be a member of the ACWPC, while the athlete must attain a grade point average in excess of 3.20. Divided into three teams based on cumulative grade point average (GPA), 92 athletes garnered Outstanding (4.00-3.71), 145 Superior (3.70-3.41) and 117 Excellent (3.40-3.20) recognition from 45 teams.

In addition to the individual honors, Johns Hopkins earned the team award with a 3.12 GPA. The Blue Jays are one of 21 teams in the nation that boasted a 3.00 or better GPA. Hopkins is one of 14 teams in the nation with 10 or more individuals selected to the ACWPC All-Academic Team.

Earning Outstanding honors are junior Andreas Katsis, sophomore Finn Banks and freshman Olin Shipstead. Senior Ryan Greenwald, junior Josh Kurtz, sophomore Andres White and freshmen John Murphy and Stephen Schmidt garnered Superior honors. And earning Excellent accolades are senior John Wilson and junior Spencer Witte. Greenwald and Kurtz earn ACWPC All-Academic honors for the third time, while Wilson, Witte, Katsis, Banks and White earn the honor for the second time.