Skip to main content Skip to footer

Hopkins Earns Water Polo Player and Coach of the Year Honors

Jan. 2, 2006

BALTIMORE, MD - Johns Hopkins sophomore Sean McCreery was named the 2005 American Water Polo Coaches Association Division III Player of the Year, while head coach Ted Bresnahan was chosen as the Coach of the Year, as announced by the association on December 23. McCreery and senior James Singleton were named first-team All-Americans.

The Blue Jays ended their season ranked first in the Collegiate Water Polo Association Division III Poll with a 24-6 overall record and an undefeated mark against Division III teams. McCreery finished with a team-high 82 goals, while Singleton had 36 goals and earned Eastern MVP honors.

Last year, Johns Hopkins' Brian Mead ('05) was named the Player of the Year, while Singleton was selected second-team All-American.

2005 American Water Polo Coaches Association All-American Team Division III

1st Team
Tim Brown, Field, Pomona Pitzer
Casey Frinfrok, Goalie, Redlands
Ryan Hall, Field, Redlands
A.J. Kotanjian, Field, Whitter
Sean McCreery, Field, Johns Hopkins
James Singleton, Field, Johns Hopkins
Linden Subin, Field, U.C. Santa Cruz

2nd Team
Scott Breseden, Field, Cal Lutheran
Jared Carvitto, Field, La Verne
Ian Calpin, Field, Redlands
Joe Lyons, Goalie, U.C. Santa Cruz
John Rodgers, Field, MIT
J.P. Wright, Field, Claremont
Jake Zerbe, Field, Whittier

Coach of the Year: Ted Bresnahan, Johns Hopkins
Player of the Year: Sean McCreery, Johns Hopkins