Skip to main content Skip to footer

Ted Bresnahan
Ted  Bresnahan

Head Coach

Contact Bresnahan:


Johns Hopkins Places Four on ACWPC All-America Teams

Cico Named First Team All-American


Johns Hopkins Finishes Sixth at MAWPC Championship

Banks and Cico Named to All-Tournament Team


Johns Hopkins Defeats MIT, 11-10, In Division III Eastern Championship

Blue Jays Win Record 17th CWPA DIII Eastern Championship


Bresnahan Earn's 400th Win as Hopkins Beats La Verne, 17-13

Banks, Kurtz, Gillette Tally Hat Tricks


Johns Hopkins Bests Top-Ranked Whittier, 17-10

Cico and Wilson Lead Blue Jays to Upset of Poets

Ted Bresnahan has been at the helm of the Johns Hopkins water polo program for 26 of the program's 29 seasons. The winningest coach in the program's history with 389 wins, the Blue Jays have become one of the premier Division III water polo teams in the nation under Bresnahan's tenure.

Bresnahan has guided Johns Hopkins to 16 Division III Eastern Championships, including nine of the last 13 (JHU did not participate in 2007 and 2016). He has coached 60 All-Americans and five ACWPC Division III National Players of the Year, most recently Josh Kratz, who was also a First Team All-American, in 2008. Since 2003, Bresnahan has coached five CoSIDA Academic All-Americans and 90 ACWPC Scholar-Athletes. The team has earned the ACWPC Team Academic award in seven of the last eight seasons and 10 times since 1998.

Last season was a tough one for the Blue Jays as they won just five matches but produced three All-Americans in senior Matt Fraser, junior John Wilson and sophomore Giorgio Cico. Hopkins played, without a doubt, the toughest schedule in school history as the Jays faced a ranked opponent 14 times, out of 24 games. Four of those opponents were ranked in the top 10, including two-time defending national champion UCLA and eventual NCAA champion Cal.

2015 was arguably the best in program history as Bresnahan guided Hopkisn to the program's 16th CWPA Division III Championship as well as runner-up finishes at both the CWPA Southern Division Championship and CWPA Championship. Hopkins made history with its CWPA finals appearance as the Blue Jays were the first Division III team in league history to make the final. Hopkins lost by one to Princeton in the title match. The Blue Jays finished the season with a 21-10 record, marking the fourth 20-win season in program history and third in the last four years. Bresnahan earned ACWPC National Coach of the Year honors and seniors Langdon Froomer (first) and Kevin Yee (second), sophomore John Wilson (second) and freshman Giorgio Cico (second) all earned All-America honors. In addition, Yee was named a CoSIDA Third Team Academic All-American.

In 2014, Hopkins posted a 14-13 record while finishing second at the CWPA DIII Championship as well as the USA Water Polo Division III Championship. In 2013, Bresnahan led Hopkins to another 20-win season as the Blue Jays went 21-10, won its record 15th CWPA Division III Championship and finished the season ranked number one in Division III. A program-record-tying four Blue Jays earned All-America honors, led by first team honorees Matt Fraser and Erik Henrikson. In addition, Thomas de Lyon was named a First Team Academic All-American as well as earning Honorable Mention All-America honors. Johnny Beal also grabbed Honorable Mention All-America honors.

The 2012 season could make a case for the best in program history as the Blue Jays won a record 25 matches to finish the season with a 25-9 mark. Hopkins also took home the Division III Eastern Championship and was ranked number one in the season's final poll. Three Blue Jays earned All-America accolades in seniors Ross Schofield, Alex Whittam and Kielan Crow. For Whittam, it was his fourth All-America honor, making him just the second player in program history to do so.

In 2011, Bresnahan guided Hopkins to a 17-16 record and its record 13th Division III Eastern Championship. Schofield earned First Team All-America honors, the 23rd First Team All-American since 1992. Whittam took home his third All-America honor, garnering second team accolades. In addition, freshman Danny Ovelar was named the CWPA Southern Division Rookie of the Year, the third JHU athlete to earn the honor in the last four seasons. Ovelar went on to earn Honorable Mention All-America honors.

Bresnahan led the Blue Jays to a 17-16 record in 2010 and a share of the number one ranking in the final Division III poll of the season. Hopkins has now been the number one team in the nation in the final poll three times in the last six years (2005, 2008, 2010). He led Johns Hopkins to its 12th Division III Eastern Championship as well as third place finishes at the ECAC and CWPA Southern Championships in 2009. The Blue Jays also finished fourth at the CWPA Eastern Championship, a program best. In 2008, Bresnahan earned ACWPC Division III Coach of the Year honors after leading Johns Hopkins to a 17-17 record, its 11th Division III Eastern Championship and a #1 ranking in the final CWPA Division III poll. In addition, the Blue Jays finished second at the ECAC Championship, the best finish in program history; third at the Southern Championship and sixth at the Eastern Championship.

In 2007, Johns Hopkins posted a 16-15 record while finishing second at the Southern Championships - the best finish in school history. The Blue Jays were also the outright #1 ranked team in Division III for the first time since the 2005 season. The 2006 season saw the Blue Jays win their 10th overall and third consecutive DIII Eastern Championship as well as place fifth at the ECACs, fourth at the Southern Championships and a program best sixth place finish at the Eastern Championships. Bresnahan earned Coach of the Year honors in 2005 after guiding Johns Hopkins to a 24-6 record and the #1 national ranking in the season's final poll. The Blue Jays did not lose to a Division III school in their 30 games in 2005 while all six of their losses came to Division I schools ranked in the top-20 at some point during the season.

Updated January 2017

Ted Bresnahan
Year by Year
Water Polo 
CWPA Southern
1991 13-10 Runner-up
1992 16-9 Runner-up
1993 9-15 Runner-up
1994 11-11 Champions
1995 5-12 Champions
1996 10-12 Champions 8th Place
1997 7-14 Runner-up 7th Place
1998 10-12 Champions 6th Place
1999 17-11 Champions 3rd Place 8th Place
2000 15-19 Runner-up 3rd Place 8th Place
2001 15-19 Champions 4th Place 8th Place
2002 17-17 Champion 3rd Place 7th Place
2003 17-15 Runner-up 5th Place
2004 18-16 Champions 5th Place
2005 24-6 Champions 5th Place
2006 15-16 Champions 4th Place 6th Place
2007 16-15 Did not participate Runner-up 7th Place
2008 17-17 Champions 3rd Place 6th Place
2009 17-17 Champions 3rd Place 4th Place
2010 17-16 Runner-up 4th Place 6th Place
2011 17-16 Champions 4th Place 6th Place
2012 25-9 Champions 5th Place
2013 21-10 Champions 5th Place 5th Place
2014 14-13 Runner-up 4th Place 6th Place
2015 21-10 Champions Runner-up + Runner-up +
2016 5-19 Did not participate 4th Place !
Total 384-15
+ final season ! inaugural season