Skip to main content Skip to footer

Blue Jays Honored By Centennial Conference

2017 Centennial Conference Champions
May 17, 2017

LANCASTER, PA – Johns Hopkins freshman Matthew Su has been named the Centennial Conference Rookie Performer of the Year for the outdoor season, the conference office announced Wednesday. Eight Blue Jays join Su on the All-Centennial first team squad, while head coach Bobby Van Allen has earned Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season.

Su is the second Blue Jay to be named the outdoor Outstanding Rookie and the first since 2014, when Andrew Bartnett also earned both indoor and outdoor Rookie Performer of the Year honors. The freshman won the Centennial Conference title in the long jump, setting the program record and picking up first team honors for the event.

Joining Su on the first team are the members of the champion 4 x 400m relay and four other individual event champions. Jesse Poore, Alexander Mollick, Robert Dembinski and Zach Shelley comprised the 4 x 400m relay, earning first team honors for their efforts. Poore was also honored for his 400 meter dash victory, and Mollick earned first team recognition for his 100 meter and 200 meter dash titles. Bartnett became the first four-time outdoor champion in the pole vault, while Tom Boucher captured the title in the javelin throw. Matt Fischetti was honored as the decathlon champion, and Grant Mosser rounded out the first team selections for his performance in the 400m hurdles.



In addition to their first team honors, Poore, Shelley and Mosser were all members of the All-Centennial second team as well. Poore was recognized for the 200 meter dash, Shelley for the 400 meter dash and Mosser earned second team honors for the decathlon. Charlie Guan landed on the second team for his 110m hurdles effort, Zach Jacobson was honored for his performance in the discus throw and Dan Vila was recognized for the high jump. The 4x100m and 4x800m relay squads of Poore, Mollick, Eric Alimena and Rafael Ferguson and Dembinski, Arvind Arikatla, Colton Takata and Dominic Yared were also honored by the Centennial Conference as members of the second team.

Five Blue Jays landed on the honorable mention squad: Shelley (400m hurdles), Mosser (110m hurdles, high jump), Mitchell Keller (hammer throw), Scott Pourshalchi (1,500 meters) and Ilan Rich (100 meters).

Van Allen led the Blue Jays to a dominant victory in the teams fourth-straight Centennial Conference Championship. Johns Hopkins racked up 269.5 points, the most ever by at team in the Centennial Conference Championships.