Skip to main content Skip to footer

Pietramala's Contract Extended Through 2016 Season

Aug. 12, 2010

BALTIMORE, MD – Tom Calder, Director of Athletics at Johns Hopkins University, announced today the signing of men’s lacrosse coach Dave Pietramala to a contract extension through the 2016 season.  Pietramala recently completed his 10th season at Johns Hopkins and his 13th overall as a collegiate head coach.

“Dave Pietramala and his staff and players continue to represent Johns Hopkins University at the highest level on the field and in the classroom and community,” Calder stated.  “We are fortunate to have someone with his vision and energy leading our men’s lacrosse program.  We have enjoyed a great deal of success under his leadership over the last 10 years and we look forward to working with him as continues to build on the storied history of Johns Hopkins lacrosse.”

Pietramala fashions a 113-38 (.748) record since taking over as the head coach at Johns Hopkins in 2001.  He led the Blue Jays to the national championship in 2005 and 2007 and runner-up finishes in 2003 and 2008.  Hopkins also advanced to the national semifinals in 2002 and 2004 and has qualified for the NCAA Tournament in each of Pietramala’s 10 seasons.  Johns Hopkins’ four appearances in the national championship game since 2003 are the most of any team in the nation.

Pietramala already ranks second on the all-time victories list at Johns Hopkins with his 113 wins and boasts an overall coaching record of 136-54 (.716).  At Hopkins he has coached 48 USILA All-Americans, six of the seven players in program history who have earned CoSIDA Academic All-America honors, three McLaughlin Award winners (midfielder of the year), one Tewaraaton Award winner (player of the year), one Enners Award winner (player of the year), one Kelly Award winner (goalie of the year), one Schmeisser Award winner (defensive player of the year) and one NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient.



Generally regarded as one of the finest defensive players in the history of the game, Pietramala is the only person in the history of college lacrosse who has won an NCAA Division I Championship as a player (1987) and head coach (2005, 2007).  In addition, he is the only person who has been named the national player of the year (1989) and national coach of the year (2000, 2002).

After guiding his first team at Johns Hopkins to an 8-4 record and a trip to the NCAA Quarterfinals, Pietramala orchestrated one of the most dominant four-year runs in recent history from 2002 through 2005.  During that stretch the Blue Jays posted a 55-6 record, claimed the 2005 national championship and advanced to the 2003 national championship game.

- 30 -