Skip to main content Skip to footer

Former Hopkins Standout Jeff Cook Elected to National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

June 30, 2006

BALTIMORE, MD - Jeff Cook, a three time All-America attackman at Johns Hopkins who was twice selected as the nation's top attackman and once honored as the nation's top player, has been selected for induction in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame it was announced today. Cook, one of 10 individuals who comprise the 49th class of inductees, brings Johns Hopkins' national record number of inductees to 62 (of 333).

Cook, a 1982 graduate of Johns Hopkins who prepped at nearby McDonogh, helped lead the Blue Jays to a 51-5 record, two NCAA Championships and two national runner-up finishes and ranks as one of the top attackmen in school history. He earned First Team All-America honors as a junior and senior after garnering second team status as a sophomore. He earned the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as the nation's top player in 1981 and was selected as the recipient of the Lt. Col. J.I. Turnbull Award as the nation's top attackman in 1981 and 1982.

Cook remains among the all-time leaders in school history in goals, assists and points. He ended his career with 128 goals and 91 assists for 219 points. He ranks fifth in school history in goals, sixth in points and is tied for eighth in assists. In addition, he holds the school single-season record for points (80 in 1981) and is the co-holder of the single-season record for goals (52 in 1981). He also remains one of just four players in the history of the NCAA Division I Tournament to score six or more goals in a championship game.

This year's class also includes Feffie Barnhill, Mike Coughlin, Danielle Gallagher, Jo Ann Harper, Gloria Heath, Dan Mackesey, Pat McCabe, John Phillips and Sandy Weatherall. The induction ceremony will take place on November 11 at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Maryland.

- 30 -