Skip to main content Skip to footer

Zimmerman Elected to National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Don Zimmerman is one of nine individuals elected for induction into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.
May 26, 2017

BALTIMORE, MD – Former Johns Hopkins University men’s lacrosse coach and player Don Zimmerman has been elected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame it was recently announced. Zimmerman is one of nine individuals who comprise the 2017 induction class, which will be honored on September 23 at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Maryland.

One of the most successful coaches in the storied history of the Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse program, Zimmerman guided the Blue Jays to a seven-year run that ranks among the best in school history, even by the lofty standards of the all-time most successful program in college lacrosse.

Leading the Blue Jays from 1984-90, Zimmerman compiled a remarkable 73-15 (.830) record, won three national championships (1984, 1985, 1987) and guided the Blue Jays to the NCAA Tournament in each of his seven seasons. JHU also advanced to the national championship game in 1989 and Zimmerman was the first head coach in college lacrosse history to win an NCAA title in his first season. JHU was nearly unbeatable at Homewood Field during his reign as the Blue Jays compiled a remarkable 40-7 (.851) record in the home whites under his guidance.

In addition to the national titles and NCAA Tournament appearances the Blue Jays compiled during his tenure, the team also collected numerous individual awards during that time.

Johns Hopkins players compiled 21 First Team All-America honors, 47 overall All-America nods, two National Player of the Year, two Midfielder of the Year, three Defenseman of the Year and four Goalie of the Year awards under Zimmerman.

Zimmerman went on to a highly-successful run as the head coach at UMBC, where he won 164 games and led the Retrievers to six appearances in the NCAA Tournament from 1994-2016.

Zimmerman graduated from Johns Hopkins in 1976 after playing his final two years under legendary coach Henry Ciccarone. He earned Honorable Mention All-America honors as a midfielder as a junior and helped Johns Hopkins to the NCAA Semifinals as a senior.



In addition to Zimmerman, the induction class also includes Doug Knight (Virginia), Leslie Blankin Lane (Hollins), Jim McDonald (Coach, Administrator), Laurette Payette (official), Casey Powell (Syracuse), Jill Johnson Redfern (Ursinus), Brooks Sweet (SUNY-Farmingdale, UMass) and Robyn Nye Wood (Virginia).

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of men’s and women’s lacrosse and the home of the nation’s fastest-growing sport. US Lacrosse has more than 450,000 members in 68 regional chapters across the country and provides national leadership, structure and resources to fuel the sport’s growth and enrich the experience of participants. Bookmark, like and follow US Lacrosse at, and @uslacrosse, respectively.

- 30 -