Skip to main content Skip to footer

Hopkins 4th in B1G Preseason Poll, Three Earn Preseason Honors

Johns Hopkins checks in at #4 in the B1G Preseason Coaches Poll
Jan. 29, 2018

ROSEMONT, IL – The Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse team was picked to finish fourth in the official 2018 Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll of the league’s six head coaches it was announced today. Three players from each team were also selected as preseason honorees with senior attackman Shack Stanwick, senior midfielder Joel Tinney and junior defenseman Patrick Foley earning selection from Johns Hopkins.

The Blue Jays trailed defending national champion Maryland and defending national runner-up Ohio State along with Rutgers in the preseason poll. Penn State (5th) and Michigan (6th) round out the poll.

The Big Ten has quickly developed into the premier conference in the nation as Johns Hopkins, Maryland, Ohio State, Rutgers and Penn State are all ranked in the top 12 in the USILA Preseason Coaches Poll and four teams (Johns Hopkins, Maryland, Ohio State, Penn State) qualified for the 2017 NCAA Tournament.

Stanwick and Tinney have both earned All-Big Ten honors twice in their career. Stanwick was a first team selection as a sophomore and second team pick as a junior, while Tinney earned honorable mention status as a freshman before jumping to the first team as a junior; he was also the inaugural Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 2015.

2018 Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll
1 – Maryland
2 – Ohio State
3 - Rutgers
4 – Johns Hopkins
5 – Penn State
6 – Michigan

2018 Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Honorees
Johns Hopkins: Shack Stanwick (Sr. • A), Joel Tinney (Sr. • M), Patrick Foley (Jr. • D)
Maryland: Connor Kelly (Sr. • M), Nick Brozowski (Jr. • LSM), Curtis Corley (Jr. • D)
Michigan: Brent Noseworthy (Jr. • A), Rocco Sutherland (Jr. • A), JM Priddy (So. • LSM)
Ohio State: Tre LeClaire (So. • A/M), Ben Randall (Sr. • D), Jack Jasinski (Jr. • A)
Penn State: Grant Ament (Jr. • A), Gerard Arceri (Sr. • M), Chris Sabia (Jr. • D)
Rutgers: Jules Heningburg (Sr. • A), Michael Rexrord (Sr. • D), Max Edelman (Sr. • G)

- 30 -