Skip to main content Skip to footer

Five Blue Jays Named to NABC Honors Court

First Team All-Centennial Conference selection Kyle Doran was one of five Blue Jays named to the NABC Honors Court.
July 18, 2017

KANSAS CITY, MO – Five members of the Johns Hopkins men’s basketball team have been named to the 2016-17 NABC Honors Court it was announced this morning. In addition, the Blue Jays earned the 2016-17 NABC Team Academic Excellence Award for the fifth straight year.

Hopkins has had at least four players selected to the NABC Honors Court in each of the last six seasons. Earning the honor this season 2017 graduates Ryan Curran, Max McKee and Josh Wetzler along with rising seniors Kyle Doran and Jesse Flannery.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria, which includes: academically a junior or senior and varsity player; cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year; students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution; member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach. The NABC Team Academic Excellence Award recognizes teams with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better for the 2016-17 season. The Blue Jays posted a cumulative GPA of 3.30 last year.

Johns Hopkins NABC Honors Court selections:

Ryan Curran • Economics
Kyle Doran • Mechanical Engineering
Jesse Flannery • Economics / Political Science
Max McKee • Economics
Josh Wetzler • Biology