Skip to main content Skip to footer

Johns Hopkins to Host Four Team NCAA Regional

Feb. 26, 2018

Jill Guise
By Jill Guise
Assistant Director of Athletic Communications

2018 NCAA Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

Tournament Page

BALTIMORE, MD -- The Johns Hopkins men's basketball team will host a four-team NCAA Regional March 2 and 3, it was announced Monday afternoon. Hopkins will host La Roche (21-6), MIT (22-5) and Brockport (19-7) at Goldfarb Gym. The Blue Jays are making their 12th NCAA Tournament appearance and third in the last five years. Hopkins is hosting the first and second rounds for the third time since 2007.

Tickets will be $10 for adults; $5 for senior citizens, students of the participating institutions (with ID) and children; kids two and under will be admitted free. Doors to Goldfarb Gym will open one hour prior to the start of competition on both days.

Hopkins earned the Centennial Conference's automatic bid after defeating 11th-ranked and top-seeded Swarthmore, 61-57, in the championship game this past Saturday. The CC title is the fourth for the Blue Jays and they have won 13 straight entering the NCAAs.

The Blue Jays are led by junior Michael Gardner (14.4 ppg), senior Kyle Doran (13.7 ppg) and freshman Conner Delaney (10.9). Doran leads the team in rebounding (6.9) and Delaney averages a team-best 4.04 assists per game. Hopkins ranks second in the nation in scoring defense (61.7 ppg), fourth in three-point percentage defense (.290) and 23rd in scoring margin (+11.30).

Hopkins will take on La Roche, winners of the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference, in the first round on Friday. The Redhawks are averaging 78.4 points per game and are led by sophomore Trell Thomas (15.8 ppg), junior Ray Quan Phifer (13.7 ppg) and senior Arnes Bajgora (13.2 ppg). Bajgora leads the squad in rebounding (6.7) and field goal percentage (.548). La Roche averages 10.1 points and 8.4 rebounds more per game than its opponents this season. The Redhawks rank eighth in the nation in rebounding margin and 26th in rebounds per game (42.44).

MIT earned an automatic bid after winning its sixth New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference title on Sunday. The Engineers boast four players in double figures, but have played without their leading scorer, Bradley Jomard, for the last seven games dues to a season-ending injury. Junior's Cameron Korb (14.4 ppg) and AJ Jurko (13.6 ppg) and freshman Hamilton Forsythe (14.0 ppg) have led the way and Jurko earned tournament MVP honors after averaging 19.5 points, five rebounds and 9.5 assists. The Engineers rank in the top 10 in the nation in scoring margin (+16.2), scoring defense (63.1 ppg) and three-point field goal percentage (.407).

Brockport earned an at-large bid out of the State University of New York Athletic Conference after falling in the semifinals to SUNY Oneonta. The Golden Eagles are led by senior Hamed Shamseldin (20.4 ppg), sophomore Justin Summers (17.4 ppg) and junior Tyler Collins (10.2 ppg). Shamseldin also leads the team in assists (5.9) while Summers leads in rebounding (7.7). The Golden Eagles rank ninth in the nation in free throw attempts (701), 11th in free throws made (487) and 15th in blocked shots (5.0).