Skip to main content Skip to footer

Six Blue Jays Named All-Centennial in Baseball

May 4, 2006

BALTIMORE - Recognized for their efforts in a 28-8-2 regular season and a 14-3-1 conference campaign, six Johns Hopkins baseball players earned spots on the 2006 All-Centennial Conference teams, announced on Thursday.

Four Blue Jays got first team nods and two earned second-team picks, highlighted by the second straight first team selection for senior right fielder Gary Rosenberg. With a .388 batting average, eighth among Centennial hitters, Rosenberg also has four home runs and 35 RBI while striking out just seven times in 139 at-bats this season. The senior also has six sacrifice flies to his credit. Last season, Rosenberg earned a first team spot by hitting .336 with nine homers and 42 driven in.

Senior second baseman Corey Gleason, sophomore shortstop Jonas Fester and sophomore designated hitter Rob Pietroforte each earned Centennial post-season honors for the first time with first team selections.

Gleason, the conference leader in doubles with 15, owns a .366 batting average with 3 homers and 31 RBI. With his 15 doubles, Gleason is sixth on the Hopkins career list with 40.

Fester, a .372 hitter with four home runs and 30 RBI, has made his mark on the basepaths this season, stealing a conference-best 33 bases on 35 tries. With three more steals, Fester will tie the school's single season mark of 36, established by Karl Sineath ('02) in 2001.

Pietroforte, with a conference-leading .441 batting average, has been among the top hitters in college baseball this season. On April 7, Pietroforte was named NCBWA Division III Hitter of the Week after hitting .687 with a slugging mark of 1.500 during the week of March 27-April 2.

Fester and Pietroforte are the first sophomores to earn First Team All-Centennial Status since Paul Winterling and Mike Spiciarich ('05) in 2003. Other Blue Jays to reach the first team as sophomores include John Christ ('99) in 1997, Aaron Bernstein (`97) in 1995 and Dan Raedle ('97) in 1994.

Earning second team accolades were a pair of first-timers to the Centennial awards, senior right fielder Bryce Baumann and senior right-hander Jason Thayer.

Baumann, in his first season as an every day left fielder, finished the regular season with a .325 average and a .459 on-base percentage, drawing a team-best 28 walks. Baumann also scored 40 runs in 38 games.

Thayer, 5-1 this season, made seven regular-season starts, posting a 2.19 ERA in 53 1/3 innings. His three complete games are best on the team, and his ERA has been among the best in the Division III throughout the season.

The four first team selections brings Hopkins' total to 45, most in Centennial Conference history.

The 18th-ranked (ABCA/Collegiate Baseball Newspaper) Blue Jays open up Centennial Tournament play on Saturday (May 6), facing either Ursinus or Haverford in a single-elimination game at 11 a.m. at Caplan Field on the campus of Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, Pa.

2006 All-Centennial Conference Baseball Teams

First Team:

P - Ted Serro, F&M, (Sr.)
P - Ryan Smith, Ursinus (So.)
C - Kenny McAlpine, Haverford (Jr.)
1B - Joe Bonyai, Gettysburg (Jr.)
2B - Corey Gleason, Johns Hopkins (Sr.)
SS - Jonas Fester, Johns Hopkins (So.)

3B - Gary Kruger, F&M (Sr.)
OF - Eric Milavsky, F&M (Sr.)
OF - Gary Rosenberg, Johns Hopkins (Sr.)
OF - Eric Guetterman, Washington (Jr.)
DH - Rob Pietroforte, Johns Hopkins (So.)

Second Team

P - Jeremy Knox, F&M (Sr.)
P - Jason Thayer, Johns Hopkins (Sr.)
C - Stephen Frederick, F&M (Sr.)
1B - Tim McLean, Haverford (Sr.)
2B - Rob Stern, F&M (So.)
SS - Tommy Herrmann, Ursinus (Jr.)
3B - Bret Jenkins, Ursinus (Sr.)
OF - Ryan Stearrett, Dickinson (Jr.)
OF - Bryce Baumann, Johns Hopkins (Sr.)
OF - Corey Caruthers, F&M (Sr.)
DH - Pete Oris, Muhlenberg (Jr.)

Honorable Mention

P - Brian Spicer, Gettysburg (Sr.)
1B - Jimmy Dahlgren, McDaniel (Sr.)
SS - Drew Mitchell, McDaniel (Sr.)
3B - Kevin Salamone, McDaniel (Sr.)
OF - Crispin Vary, Haverford (Sr.)
OF - Eric Hammond, Muhlenberg (Fr.)
DH - Matt Tobia, Muhlenberg (Sr.)

Player of the Year: Senior third baseman Gary Krueger, Franklin & Marshall
Pitcher of the Year: Senior right-hander Ted Serro, Franklin & Marshall